Skip to content

01. On Winning, Dinner, and Finals

April 28, 2011


Best Fucking Delegates

If you were a gavel, I'd bang you all night.

Michigan State took Chomun by storm this weekend, coming away with 12 awards for its 14 delegates. For the first time, I’m proud to say that I was able to contribute to that total, winning Best (fucking) Delegate on the 1959 French Senate under Charles De Gaulle. This was a big step for me, and in a way a validation of how much I’ve grown since leaving UofM-Dearborn. Not only was it my first award won at a Model UN conference, it’s probably the first merit-based award I’ve won my entire college career.

But as tempting as it is to take all the credit, I have to thank my partner, Ben. It was his very first MUN conference but he learned so quickly, growing in leaps and bounds over the weekend. I only hope that the both of us can continue this trend of winning next year.

The satisfaction of winning is only surpassed for me by one thing: Food. Anyone who knows anything about me knows that I love to cook and bake. Immediately following classes yesterday, I indulged in the most comforting of comfort foods. Baked macaroni & cheese with bacon and breadcrumbs.

Ok, so perhaps not as fattening as that sounds. I used whole-wheat pasta shells, three different types of reduced-fat cheese, and turkey bacon. But the best thing about it was that, after it was baked to a warm, gooey, crispy consistency, it was perhaps the best meal ever to enjoy with beer.

I wonder if I cook because I want to avoid responsibility. Certainly feels that way, as I’m going into finals week with barely a hint of studying because I’ve already established that no matter how hard I study for exams in those classes, I’m not going to break a 4.0. I’m a permanent 3.6 student, and it’s frustrating how much those numbers matter to some people.

Of course this doesn’t mean I’m going to give up entirely. Just…mostly.

I’ve been too focused on expanding the summer job search. With my anxieties regarding the copy editing position at The State News ever-growing, I’m looking at other options. The communication department is offering a internship that I’m severely underqualified for but am now submitting an application out of sheer desperation, praying they won’t have any other applicants (Note: Master the AP style in <2 days). My DC program director is offering a tentative position for either her office or Student Affairs, but I won’t know about the status of that for another couple weeks. In half an hour I’m interviewing for the paper route with the State News, a position that my sister is somehow staunchly against despite the fact that it’s a decent paycheck and not a position I intend to write about on my resume.

There is a silver lining to all this, I promise. I’m coming to accept that it’s more important to work hard and be happy than to try and do what other people want. Can’t believe it took me this long to figure out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

