Skip to content

10: On Goals

September 9, 2011

While I know that the excitement of having things to do will fade, I can’t help but feel giddy about being assigned my first research by my scholar, Kathleen Vogel. I met her yesterday for the first time. She was younger than I thought she’d be, but I think that’s because when you hear the word “scholar,” you imagine a grey-haired man with bifocals and elbow patches on his tweed jacket.

After a minor fiasco, I’m now also working with Lawrence K. Altman, a medical/political science columnist for the New York Times on a project about the health of US presidents and world leaders and how it impacts foreign policy. I was wary about the assignment at first, but upon doing some of my own research, it sounds like it’s going to be a good fit and I’m looking forward to meeting him on Monday.

I’d like to keep this entry brief, because I need to head out to some local libraries to try and find some books Kathleen recommended, but I wanted to outline a couple of my goals for DC that are less ridiculous than those in my previous post.

1. Get a 4.0. Essentially, I feel like this is my last semester to get a 4.0, because with the science classes I have to do next semester, there’s no way I’m getting more than a 3.5. A 4.0 here would considerably bump up my cumulative GPA out of my 3.6 curse.

2. Build a network. I don’t know what I’m doing with my life yet, and I don’t know what I expect to do once I graduate, but I think having a network to fall back on or look to when I’m starting my job search is going to be the biggest and best thing I can do right now.

3. Is this where I want to be? Put simply, I want to figure out where I’m going.

So that’s it, for now. I might add more goals as I think of them, but I think these are the basics. Weird, intangible things.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

