Skip to content

16: On Illustriousness

October 30, 2011

I’m having trouble with motivation lately. Maybe blame it on Halloween and all the scary movies and other such exciting specials, but it’s been hard for me to focus on the things that I need to get done. I spent the last half hour trying to get things to print at the hotel, and ended up locking myself out of my room. I’m back now, but it’s getting harder for me to do work in this hotel room. I feel like I’m falling behind in the things that I have to do, even though I know I’m far ahead of where I ought to be. It’s an odd feeling to want to go into work on the weekends, even odder because I feel more motivated to do work, but I don’t have the available resources. Printers, copiers, scanners. I want to go to a Starbucks but it’s hard to get to anywhere from here.

Frustrating.

I still think I’m on track to get a 4.0, if I keep up this pace, but I want to get as much done as possible as soon as possible so that I don’t have to worry about all these papers next month. I want to be able to do more for my internship and less for my classes.

When it comes to Live and the Great Post-Graduation Experience, I still don’t know what I want. A few days ago, Dr. Merrill (my Russian professor) sent an email about an opportunity to teach English in Novosibirsk, Russia – the city where I was born. I applied – I think I had the right credentials to where I might have actually gotten the position, but the problem was, they wanted someone available immediately. Rats. Just when I had something that felt right. I don’t know what to do when I get back to East Lansing. I have to work. I have to do classes. I have to find a job. I need to network here. I need to set up more interviews.

All of this is too hard to do when I’m already trying to get these assignments and research done.

At least Halloween was a good time.

Luna Lovegood

I hope there's pudding.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

