Skip to content

20: On Thankfulness

November 25, 2011

Thanksgiving has always been an odd holiday for me – one that I’ve never understood or experienced in the way that most of my American friends have. (I’ll save the discussion of what it means to me to be an immigrant American for another entry.)

My family never really partook in the usual traditions of having massive gatherings filled with turkey, stuffing, gravy, cranberries, and copious amounts of alcohol and football. The Thanksgivings I remember involve my parents cooking a bird of some sort, eating it while my dad watches Law and Order, and then going up to my room to do homework or play videogames.

So, in a way, this November away from home is going to be my first Real Thanksgiving. It doesn’t matter that it’s in a hotel room in Washington D.C. or that I’m not with the people who are most important to me. It doesn’t even matter that I’m tired of aspects of this trip. I think that, for once, I can truly be thankful for things.

I’m thankful I went on this journey. It’s provided me amazing opportunities, and I think it’s helped me figure out that this is really where I want to be. Maybe not immediately after graduation (unless I get an amazing opportunity somewhere) but I love this town – from the size of it to the people to the Metro system. I’ve learned so much at my internship and I feel like there’s real potential for coming back and finding a job in this city.

And finally, I’m so thankful for Cameron. He’s been an amazing beacon of support, comfort, and overall friendship these past three months. I think the separation has been hard at times, but it’s been good for us. We’ve come out of it with more respect and appreciation for one another.

Happy Thanksgiving. (:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

