Skip to content

34: On Observations

April 29, 2013

12 facts about this moment:

1. I forgot my book today so this is what I’m doing on the Metro instead.

2. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to sit down.

3. Woo! I sat. Typing standing up is hard.

4. I also forgot my water bottle today.

5. But that’s ok! I have already decided that this week will be better than last.

6. Wait I just checked and it turns out I did not forget my water bottle. This week is already like 10000x better.

7. There’s a documentary about the graffiti along the Red Line in my neck of the woods that I really want to see. A lot of the lettering is indecipherable but you can tell there’s meaning behind it. Some of it is really sad. “RIP Mom and Carla”

8. There’s a woman two seats in front of me with badly streaked purple hair. I saw her yesterday on the train too, sitting exactly where she is now, with me two seats behind her. Habit’s a funny thing.

9. The only way to get better at writing is to keep writing. And also keep the jeep riding. (Turquoise Jeep represent)

10. Union Station! I have to hurry to finish this if I want to be done by the time I reach metro center.

11. The only thing worse than a cold shower is a lukewarm shower. I feel a much stronger sense of disappointment when I try to keep adjusting the taps, attempting to coax something impossible out of the faucet.

12. I can’t help but think about how in the future, earbuds will replace all human contact. Already, ten of the sixteen people in front of me are plugged into some device or another.

Finishing this post as we pull into metro center. Pretty proud of myself! Lets make this a habit

Bonus: I get to be in the car with blue lights! Everyone looks so much more tired here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

